THE STORY OF CAMP LUCY IS AS UNIQUE AS THE PROPERTY ITSELF
Camp Lucy’s path from family ranch to wedding and special event destination began when Whit’s oldest son Ian moved to Asia several years ago – an odyssey that, quite unexpectedly, would marry this Texas property with French Colonial buildings from Vietnam and inspire Whit to open up the family’s land so others could experience the Hill Country dream.
Upon Ian’s suggestion, Whit visited Asia, including Hanoi in Vietnam, where he discovered a wealth of French-Colonial antiques. As an avid antiques dealer and collector, Whit is always on the hunt for the truly unique and special antique and, in Vietnam, he found what could be the ultimate antique – an 1880's Catholic church. On the brink of destruction to make way for a new church, the gorgeous 19th Century chapel, built from intricately carved ironwood, was available for purchase. Whit was sold.
The chapel was carefully disassembled and packed in sea-land containers, all of the timbers and tiles painstakingly photographed, labeled, and provided with a diagram and video to show how the church would go back together for its new life in Texas.
After a long sea and land voyage, the chapel arrived in Dripping Springs where it was reassembled and a campanile added to hold a 19th Century French bell which, today, signals happy events at Camp Lucy. The original chapel was soon joined by a second French Colonial church from the 1930's, reconstructed at Camp Lucy and roofed with 1920's Ludowici tile repurposed from the Bexar County Courthouse in downtown San Antonio. The courthouse was getting a new roof and now the deep green glaze of these antique tiles is the crowning glory on the Camp Lucy pavilion.
The next chapter in the Camp Lucy storybook was written in December 2011 when the doors opened to a magnificent events hall. This addition to Camp Lucy, created from a repurposed Amish barn originally built from hand-hewn white oak timbers in Ohio in the 1800s, continues the unique design aesthetic of Camp Lucy.
Today, the original chapel, pavilion, and events hall, along with surrounding gardens, stone terrace, arch, and great lawn are collectively known as Ian’s Chapel to honor Whit’s son.
Sacred Oaks, Camp Lucy’s second venue, opened on September 22, 2013. Named Sacred Oaks to honor the space’s remarkable setting, the venue expertly blends the impeccable design and enviable style that are the hallmarks of Camp Lucy with the natural surroundings. The stunning ceremony site, with lights dripping from the canopy of ancient oaks, has rapidly become a sought-offer backdrop for weddings. Also in 2013, the Hays County Historical Commission pronounced the big live oak at the Sacred Oaks ceremony site as the biggest live oak in the county and we’ll keep those bragging rights until a larger one is found (no word yet).
In the spring of 2014, Camp Lucy was very excited to introduce our first on-site lodging. The Camp Lucy Cottages are private and spacious luxury hotel rooms with exceptional amenities and, of course, offer the ultimate convenience for our guests.
In October 2015, we opened Whit’s Inn On the Creek, a gorgeous luxe-rustic rehearsal dinner and corporate event venue nestled by Onion Creek. This venue is ideal for weddings of fewer than 80 guests and for the foodie bride who is looking for a gastro-pub reception experience.